Why Facebook Has Become My Networking Tool

image

I think God had me in mind when Mark Zuckerberg helped start Facebook. If you are in college or university right now you need to focus on building meaningful relationships and working on providing solutions using what God has given to you.

Building networks is hard, especially when you come to a big city like Nairobi and all you have is a CV the size of a razor blade’s breadth and a thick skin developed from attending Homegrown University. I discovered this when I joined Facebook. I still think the word ‘mutual’ friends is misrepresented because there is nothing mutual about the mutual friends I have on Facebook. Yet, because of it, we are becoming a close-knit family.

And because I didn’t know anyone, I would log into my account and hit the search button. My target was to get a total of 26 friends from A-Z. By the time my friend list hit 226 I discover that there was nothing mutual between me and my friends. I met most of them at a time when I was embarking on a new phase in life.

I look back to the days I would call total strangers for all kinds of help. These strangers have become best friends who have contributed to my growth and the development of Lifesong Kenya. It is Facebook that I turned when I wanted to shave one hundred boys in juvenile prison. It is also the place where I got a pair of shorts, shoes and underwear for a boy who was attending court proceedings.

Because of the network I am building through Facebook, I have been able to meet hundreds of juvenile prisoners, I have participated in transforming the lives of children by teaching them about reading, purposeful living and God’s love for mankind through Christ.

I have sewn torn clothes and replaced buttons that brought a smile to hundreds of children and their mothers. As I embark on my biggest campaign – its bigger than shaving the boys and tracing their parents – our eyes are set on reaching out to five hundred mothers, hundreds of breast-feeding babies and children in three Kenyan najor women’s prisons. It is so big it scares me. I know My Awesome and Mighty God has this one sorted out already.

I have already met several people I met through Facebook. Meeting these wonderful people – such as Nancy Muigei, Nancy Ng’ang’a, Walter Akolo, Stella Kimathi, Jepsang, Clifford Oluoch, Godfrey Emmanuel, Jane Anyango, Leah Okeyo, Mercy Njoki, Elissa Temba, Audrey Simatwa, Momanyi Nabonyi, James Bukachi, Helen Light, Pauline Duya, Jacquie Habwe, Joy Mwaurah, Arege Edwin, Linda Damaris, Edna Adongo, Corien Herwrijer, Jean Namahiana, Cynthia Marebe and Patty Liston wouldn’t have been possible without Facebook.

Now, if only one of you would be kind enough to share this with Mark Zuckerberg & Co. Trust me, what goes around has a way of coming around. #themakingofJimButtons #LifesongKenya

Leave a Reply

