Writing by James Ouma

Gong Bao Chicken

Chicken_2222025bAfter spending over 60 hours awake, writing, generating content and meeting our girls, I was feeling exhausted. I actually had a difficult time keeping my eyes open and felt I needed a pair of toothpicks, or matchsticks, to keep my eyes open.

Today, Ayuny, Pastor Lucy, Caro, Cynthia and I had a wonderful time with the girls. Our dance session has graduated to using a laptop and sub-woofers as opposed to the time we were using a cellphone to play music.

The discipleship session is picking. So is the singing and drama sessions. I look back to everything that God is doing and can’t help but marvel at what is happening. Just the other day, I wa sall alone, meeting close to five hundred children, without support and no volunteers. Right now, I have a host of volunteers and my work load has reduced a hundred-fold, which means I can now turn my attention to creating and writing.

As we reluctantly bid the girls farewell – a few were in tears, which I still can’t understand – I felt I needed to take a much deserved rest. Little did I know I was going to end up at a Chinese Supermarket at Studio House, along Argwings Kodhek. Now, if you have never been to a Chinese Supermarket then you need to imagine the coming together of Muthurwa Market and Nakumatt. I am telling you, that is something that will surely bring new meaning to you need it, we’ve got it!

For some reasons, which I didn’t quiet understand, the Chinese staff at the supermarket refused to speak in Chinese even though all I could do was say ni hao ma and nod my head while murmuring, “Bruce Lee good, I like Jacky Chan and Kung Fu Panda too!”

Thirty minutes later, we arrived home and so begun an adventure that result into a tasty meal whose recipe I want to share with you today. Now, the last first time I blogged about food I ended up with burnt pancakes. Fortunately, I didn’t give up and this being so, my pancakes are a beauty to behold and sample. The meal I am going to share takes about 40 minutes to prepare and it is worth the wait and trouble. I have just had my first Gong Bao Chicken experience and I have loved every bit of it!

Gong Bao Chicken Ingredients

  • 3 boneless chicken breasts cut into half inch cubes
  • 1 tablespoon peanut oil or vegetable oil
  • 10 dried red chillies, chopped into pieces
  • 1 tablespoon white pepper
  • 3 garlic cloves, thinly sliced
  • 1 piece of ginger root, finely sliced
  • 1 bunch of chopped scallions, white part only
  • Half a cup of roasted peanuts
  • Rice

Marinade

  • 2 tablespoons of light soy sauce
  • 1 tablespoon of rice wine
  • 1 teaspoon of sugar

Sauce

  • 1 tablespoon of light soy sauce
  • 1 tablespoon of dark soy sauce
  • 1 tablespoon of Chinese rice vinegar
  • Sesame oil
  • 2 tablespoon of chicken stock
  • 1 tablespoon of sugar

Directions

  • Boil rice in a separate container without salt or oil
  • Combine all ingredients for the marinade in a bowl and marinate the chicken
  • Cover for about 20 minutes
  • Combine all the ingredients for the sauce and set aside
  • Hat oil in a frying pan and stir chillies and peppers until crisp
  • Add pieces of chicken and stir
  • When they turn white, add garlic, ginger root and scallions
  • Stir the mixture until the chicken is cooked
  • Pour in the sauce, stir until everything is mixed
  • Add peanuts and serve immediately

This portion serves three

The ingredients can also be found at Nakumatt outlets along Ngong Road

Leave a Reply

