Courageous Faith by Mercy Ogutu, April 12, 2015

Scripture: Hebrews 11

In order for us to live a life worth the call in our generation, it is compulsory and mandatory to have and walk in courageous faith on a daily basis. Hebrews 11 talks about men and women who made it to the so-called hall of fame because of their faith. Those men and women are not there because of their faith but because they had something extra, something that enabled them to stand out in their generation and for us to talk about them at this time and hour.

You can have faith but without courage your faith is incomplete. These men and women had the courage to stand in the midst of their obstacles and say, you know if thus says the LORD He has said it and He is going to do it.

Now faith is the substance of things hoped for and the evidence of things not seen. Faith is in the NOW. Faith is unwavering confidence in God. According to the New Interpreters Dictionary of the Bible, courage is a spiritual, emotional and moral fortitude to speak and act without fear in the face of obstacles and dangers. Courage is being bold and fearless in the face of obstacles.

To make these definitions more practical, I would like to explore how six Biblical characters responded to the obstacles that faced them. While responding to Mordecai, Esther said, “I will go to the king, though it is against the law, and if I perish, I perish.” (Esther 4:16). I wonder how many of us would have the courage to say, “if I perish, I perish!”

In Ruth 1:16, Ruth responds to Naomi, her mother-in-law by saying, “Don’t urge me to leave you or to turn back from you. Where you go I will go, and where you stay I will stay. Your people will be my people and your God my God!” Talk about courageous faith!

In Luke 1:38, Mary, the mother of Our Lord Jesus, tells the angel, “I am the Lord’s servant. May your word to me be fulfilled.” In Daniel 3:16 – 18, Shadrack, Meshack and Abednego responds, “King Nebuchadnezzar, we do not need to defend ourselves before you in this matter. If we are thrown into the blazing furnace, the God we serve is able to deliver us from it. But even if he does not, we want you to know, that we will not serve your gods or worship the image of gold you have set up.”

In Joshua 24:14 – 15, Joshua declares to the Israelites, “Choose for yourselves this day whom you will serve, whether the gods your ancestors served beyond the Euphrates, or the gods of the Amorites, in whose land you are living. But as for me and my household, we will serve the Lord.”

And last but not least, in Luke 22:42, Jesus Christ, Our Lord and Savior responds, Father, if you are willing, take this cup of suffering from me; yet not my will, but yours be done.”

Three character traits of a person who possesses courageous faith

The courage to believe in the promises of God

Romans 4: 18 – 21 tells us that against all hope, Abraham in hope believed and so became the father of many nations, just as it had been said to him, “So shall your offspring be.” Without weakening in his faith, he faced the fact that his body was as good as dead—since he was about a hundred years old—and that Sarah’s womb was also dead. Yet he did not waver through unbelief regarding the promise of God, but was strengthened in his faith and gave glory to God, being fully persuaded that God had power to do what he had promised.

God promised that Abraham was going to be a father of all nations and that the heir was going to come forth from him. Time went by and Abraham did not see the manifestation of this promise coming true. Abraham did not ignore his circumstances neither did he waiver in his faith. He was persuaded that God had the power to keep His promise by continually praising God in the midst of his doubts.

You need to keep praising God and reminding Him of His promises as you wait for His promises to manifest and materialize. You need to keep believing that God’s promise is going to come true. God’s promises are true and His answers are yes and amen! I don’t know what promise God has given you. But I pray that you will keep on trusting and praising God. Don’t let the enemy steal that promise from you.

I remember when my parents passed on and left me with my siblings. So many people told me to get married because they were convinced I couldn’t take care of my siblings. But let me tell you, I didn’t listen to them because I knew God was going to come through for me. And God has been faithful. I encourage you to keep trusting God for everything.

The promises that I am standing on this year are found in Psalms 91 where God promises to cover me with His feathers. He promises to protect me from harm and disaster. Another promise that I am standing on is found in Isaiah 61 where God promises to bestow a crown of beauty upon me instead of ashes, oil of joy instead of mourning and a garment of praise instead of a spirit of despair.

The courage to obey and receive the rewards of obedience

When you are a person of courageous faith, you don’t choose what commandments and instructions to obey and not to obey. In Joshua 1:8, God commands Joshua, “Keep this Book of the Law always on your lips; meditate on it day and night, so that you may be careful to do everything written in it. Then you will be prosperous and successful.”

I have a question for you. Do you have a secret time where you spend quality time with God? You cannot spend time with God and remain the same. When you spend quality time with God, God shows you mysteries; He molds and shapes you to live worth your call in your generation.

The courage to fight your battles

In our Christian walk, every single day is a battle because the enemy isn’t happy about what we are carrying inside of us. In 1 Samuel 17:42, David said to the Philistine, “You come against me with sword and spear and javelin, but I come against you in the name of the Lord Almighty, the God of the armies of Israel, whom you have defied.”

David already won the battle even before he began it. He was fighting from victory, and not for victory. He won the battle because he knew the battle had already been won. Before you even begin your battles know it is already won. Speak the Word of God against strongholds and battles you face. Use the Word of God and be spiritually dressed for battle knowing that the battle is already won. Speak against the mountain and it shall be moved in the name of Jesus.

I don’t which battles you are facing today. But I want you to know that we serve a living God Who is more than able and He has already given us victory in the name of Jesus.

Leave a Reply

