Running for My Life Day 9: Zero Focus Toolbox

 Zero Focus Toolbox

throw-in-the-towel

Today I managed to slice off 3 more minutes from my run by clocking 44 minutes running the same distance. Cutting off 3 minutes is a remarkable feat. Eight days ago, I was running the same distance in one hour. I have also managed to get more people who have pledged $1 for every kilometre that I will run in the 20K during the Shompole Wildlife Marathon in March.

I thought more about reasons why I needed to keep running as opposed to reasons why I needed to throw in the towel. Truth be told, there is no single day I don’t consider throwing in the towel. And you know what stops me from doing so? I don’t have an additional towel, that’s why.

You don’t get it, do you?

I have made keeping my towel my zero focus. I kept thinking about my goal, how far I had come, what I have achieved and what I need to do to achieve the ultimate prize. I was running the same distance, with the same pair of lungs and I managed achieved a different kind of result.

There are 356 days left in 2016

Nine days have passed this new year. There are 356 more days to go before 2016 comes to an abrupt end. And come 2017, you and I may be involved in yet another vicious circle of spending 365 days without a definite purpose and goal achieved. 356 days is a long time if you are going to spend it being tossed to and from in the expansive ocean of lack of progress.

A good friend of mine, John Wollwerth, tells me that it takes a whole two years for an initiative to take roots and gain some progress. Having the kind of zero focus that enables us to achieve our goals takes time, lots of it. You may have noticed that I am running for my life for the past nine days. The truth is, I have been running for my life for almost three years now.

 Your 2016 Toolbox

  1. (Having) Courage
  2. (Finding) Consistency
  3. (Becoming a) Champion

Have the courage to take a big bite at your goal this year. Having a big bite usually starts with a small bite. Before you know it, the small bites will become bigger as you continue biting. The more you bite, the more an appetite you will be getting as time goes by. Continuous biting will give way to consistency that will eventually pave way for the winning champion in you.

Once again, let me emphasize that you were born for much more than floating aimlessly like a piece of wood on water. You were born for greater things. For this to happen, you need to find your 2016 focus toolbox and use it to get ahead of the pack.

You also need to find resources and people who will help you accomplish your goal. True, you have what it takes and you already feel like you can take on the whole world. But if you want to outlast the stiff competition that is out there, you need a formidable team to walk with you.

kobe-bryant-has-a-new-leadership-philosophy-and-the-lakers-love-it

I’ll do whatever it takes to win games, whether it’s sitting on a bench waving a towel, handing a cup of water to a teammate, or hitting the game-winning shot.

Kobe Bryant

Leave a Reply

