Running for My Life Day 10 & 11: When Everything is Broken

motivationalquotes

Motivation Monday

Just when you thought things would be different in the new year, there comes the same old circle that revolves around Monday! While others are singing Monday Blues, whatever that is, you be the one singing a new song because your motivation is unique.

Motivation is the act or process of giving someone a reason for doing something. It is being eager to act, work and keep moving. It is a force that compels someone to do something.

Motivation isn’t easy to master, especially when everything is broken. Finding motivation, in a new day, when you have broken pieces to pick up from last week isn’t easy. I kid you not. Handing in a progress report to your boss when you have failed to meet your target isn’t a motivating factor.

Why, Oh Why Me?

That is how I felt when I heard my alarm at 4:20 am. As you can see, I have been running for the last 11 days in preparation for the Shompole Wildlife Marathon on 20th In March. I already have close to 10 friends who have pledged to give $1  for every kilometre that I will be running in the 20K event. That should be enough motivation to get me out bed.

I would be lying to you if I said I wake up every morning at 4:20 am fully motivated to read my Bible, have devotion, prepare and leave the house for my morning run. The chill weather in Ngong doesn’t help at all. Sometimes I falter, struggle and lose the courage to keep working hard. I am learning that the harder I hit a brick wall, the harder I need to bounce back by finding the motivation I need to keep moving.

3 Motivating Factors

  • Faith
  • Thoughts
  • Confession

Confession

Truth be told, we possess what the things and results we confess. If you keep talking about your past failures they will show up, not only in the present, but in the future.

 

Thoughts

A few years ago, I used to think about failure and ended up attracting and seeing failure all the time. Little did I know that you get what you give in terms of your thought process. Now I think positively about everyone and everything and do you know what I get in return, success!

Thinking positive thoughts is a step in the right direction. It enables you to have a clear picture of what your future outcome looks like.

Faith

Look at the things you have always wanted to do and see yourself having achieved them. See yourself as if you are already there. You are greater than your past failures and mistakes. You are so great your own shadow can’t even catch up with you! Everything you want to achieve is already here, you just need to have faith in God and in yourself.

 

 

“Now faith is confidence in what we hope for (desired results in the future) and assurance about what we do not see (in the present)”

Hebrews 11:1.

“Never be afraid to trust an unknown future to a known God.”

Corrie ten Boom

2 Comments

Leave a Reply

