Something About the Name of Jesus

a psalm of david

I have been meaning to write about friendly fire, and whether or not, it happens in church but I will digress and write about something about the name of Jesus. I was 13 years old when I heard the name of Jesus being mentioned in a way that put a full stop to every care, burden and fear. My dad had just been buried, and the particles of soil on his grave were yet to settle down. Yet the whole village was gathered inside our mud-walled and grass-thatched hut discussing what to do about the name of Jesus.

“You can leave Jesus, get inherited then pick Him up later,” one of our aunts said. The way she said it sounded like you could simply drop and pick Jesus at will.

“I loved my husband very much,” my mom replied. “And since he has died, I am going to have Jesus as my husband from now on!” she added.

I was too young to know what it meant to have Jesus as a husband. But I have lived long enough to know that there is something about the name of Jesus. Last Sunday, I witnessed Pastor Oscar Muriu, the senior pastor at Nairobi Chapel, do something that happens when a man encounters Jesus.

 

By offering a public apology to the parents whose son had died during an event organized by the church and by taking full responsibility for it, Pastor Oscar demonstrated true leadership that is as a result of an encounter with Jesus.

Lessons we can learn from encountering Jesus

#1. Jesus Provides

In Luke 22:35 Jesus asked his disciples, “When I sent you without purse, bag or sandals, did you lack anything?” “Nothing,” they answered. When you have Jesus, you will lack nothing. I have come to discover that having everything you desire doesn’t translate into not lacking anything. You may have everything but without the joy that comes with knowing Jesus, everything may translate into having nothing!

#2. Jesus Has Your Back

Psalm 37:24, though he may stumble, he will not fall, for the Lord upholds him with his hand.

Friends, your breakthrough may tarry and delay. You may have committed costly mistakes. But as long as you have Jesus, rest assured that God is working out an escape plan for you. Keep trusting, keep believing and wait for His deliverance.

#3. Jesus Will Give You a New Song

Look at what happened to the Virgin Mary after she encountered Jesus for the very first time. Her transformation was so powerful she burst into song

My soul glorifies the Lord and my spirit rejoices in God my Savior,
for he has been mindful of the humble state of his servant.
From now on all generations will call me blessed,
for the Mighty One has done great things for me (Luke 1:46-56)
A Call to Action
What are you waiting for? You can also experience that something about the name of Jesus. All you need to do is accept Jesus as your saviour and your life will never be same again. There is something about the name of Jesus. It is the sweetest name I know!
One Comment

Leave a Reply

