Candace Mwende · Carrefour at the Hub, Karen · Christian Fiction · James Ouma · Nairobi City · Royco Mchuzi Mix · Writing by James Ouma

Grand Tour of Carrefour at the Hub

Grand Tour of Carrefour at the Hub

carrefourIt is six months since I got married and every single day is filled with eye-opening lessons. One of the things that I have had to learn the hard way is to enjoy shopping with my wife who seems to revel in the act of shopping. Trust me, even if there is no actual shopping being done, my wife will still find the energy to waltz from one shop aisle to the other.

This used to rile and push me to the wall. I detested every shopping spree that she wanted me to accompany her to.  I remember one day, three months after we had gotten married, I accompanied her for a shopping spree that I believed, really wanted to believe, wasn’t going to last for 15 minutes. It was on a Saturday and though Chelsea FC have had their worst run this year, I still did not want to miss the game.

For some reason, my wife seemed to either ignore the fact that Chelsea FC were going to have a game in an hour’s time or she was sent by the joy-killing evil angels that only married couples seem to encounter. What made it worse was the fact that we had already bought everything we needed and there were tens of open tills that beckoned for us to do the right thing – which was paying for our shopping.

“Hey,” my wife exclaimed. “Why don’t we go to the electronics section and see how much they are currently selling the 42 inch LG TV!”

“I thought we bought that TV three months ago,” I protested, all the while thinking about Mike Dean tossing the coin in the air just before kick off. “That’s why they have Google,” I added, thinking it would be a good idea for my wife to check the new prices online. Just like the hundreds of things that have brought discord in our marriage, my wife didn’t take the suggestion kindly.

“I know you hate shopping,” she said, dragging the shopping cart behind her. She knew this was going to cause me to swing into action, since I can’t let her push the trolley while I whistle Lauren Daigle’s How Can It Be and nod at strange pregnant women.

“I know you and shopping,” I said. “When I come to the supermarket I come knowing exactly what I want to buy, and no matter what discounts are on display I won’t get distracted,” I added.

“This won’t take long, I promise.”

“Okay,” I said, grabbing the shopping trolley and pushing it.

Well, my wife didn’t keep her promise and before I knew it, I ended up reading the over-sized ‘John Terry, Leader, Captain, Legend‘ banner straddling the length of Stamford Bridge from the Kshs. 1.2 million worth TV being sold in the electronic section. By the time my wife decided she had had enough, the game was halfway through the first half and the drive home was going to last a whole 30 minutes.

Carrefour Grand Tour

Since then, I have come to adopt a positive attitude towards shopping and it didn’t come easy. That is what enabled me to accompany my wife to Carrefour grand tour, which she promised would change the way I view shopping. As we walked from one fully stocked shopping shelf to the other, without shopping other than looking at products, the song that played when she walked down the aisle during our wedding played in my head. That is all I have to do nowadays. It helps me remain sober, maintain my cool and serenity when I walk by my wife’s side inside shopping malls and supermarkets.

“I told you this joint rocks,” she gushed, pulling me from one shelf to the other. “Don’t you like how this package their stuff and sell at crazy discounts?” she asked, as I reached deep inside myself to increase the volume of the bridal song that played during our wedding.

“I hope they sell Omena,” I said, hopping they don’t so I can discredit the new supermarket.

The wide big smile that cut my wife’s beautiful  face into two convinced me I was in for a huge surprise. “Come, let me show you where they stock all the fish!”

Carrefour Shopping Experience

13221591_1745694965643791_1193320043664377224_n

Carrefour is a multinational retailer and is the second largest hypermarket chain in the world after Wal-Mart. Contracted by Majid Al Futtaim Retail, who is the exclusive franchisee for Carrefour, they are in 38 countries across the Middle East, Central Asia, Russia and now both North and Eastern Africa, they are credited with being one of the most active and successful retailers in the region.

Carrefour Hypermarkets offer customers a unique experience with an adaptive product selection that caters to all with products of the highest quality at competitive and affordable pricing that corresponds to local consumer requirements ‘all under one roof’. Carrefour is likely to aid in not only the generation of revenue and job creation, but also have a positive effect on the local retail and consumer markets.

#CarrefourattheHub

 

 

Leave a Reply

