The Falacy of Tomorrow

P1120023
There is nothing stopping me from picking my running shoes from off the floor…          Photo: Cynthia Wendo

The fallacy of tomorrow has temporarily found its core roots inside my being. And as a result, I have been unable to go on my morning run for the last 4 days. In fact, it has taken me longer than that. Everything in me believes that this is just a temporary impasse. I believe I am going to bounce back, SOON.

There is nothing stopping me from heading out for a run right now. The weather is perfect and my running gear is beckoning to be picked from the cold floor. My sore muscles have also healed after my Monday run. On top of that, I have had 4 days of rest.

So what is stopping me from running?

The Falacy of Tomorrow

Tomorrow signifies hope for better things to come. It promises new opportunities and new beginnings. It is a day that is full of a list of things I can accomplish as a runner. It offers me the opportunity to push my limits as I continue conquering new territtories. The fallacy of tomorrow lies in spending the present in thinking about tomorrow. This reminds me of Asa’s No One Knows (Tomorrow) song where the weatherman says the following…

See I can read the weather child
I can say maybe the rain will fall
The sun will shine oh oh ohh…
But that’s as far as my guess goes

I find these sentiments to be true. No one really knows what tomorrow holds. We can plan, but doing so doesn’t guarantee that our plans will come to pass the way we want. Who knows, it could rain cts and dogs tomorrow. The earth may tilt to an additional 98 degrees or the soles of my running shoes may finally fall off. There are so many things that can happen to cause me not to run. That means I need to take full advantage of today and this very moment to run.

No One Knows (Tomorrow)

This morning my alarm went off at 4:45. I walked 50 metres to hit the dismiss button on my phone. You would think that walking 100 metres to swicth off the alarm, that had woken me up, would have given me enough motivation to put on my running gear and head out of the door. Instead, I found myself going back to the warm comfort of my bed. A few seconds later, I was fast asleep dreaming about another tomorrow.

Now that it is clear I am not going to run, let me share the lessons I have learned during the past three marathons I have particpated in. Each has opened my eyes to my limits and what is possible. The same applies to my daily morning runs and training. All in all, these past six months have been fruitful. I have run 3 marathons and have about 7 more to go, if I will manage to sign up for them.

1. Shompole Wildilfe Marathon

Six pack1
Thinking about how it all begun helped me soldier on during my first marathon              Photo: Cynthia Wendo

This was my first marathon in March this year. It was 14 days after I had undergone surgery to the back of my neck. It was the hardest thing I have ever done and taken my body through. Being my first time, I didn’t know what to expect. I arrived for the run in the evening, inadequately prepared. Were it not for the generosity of the people I met in the van that took us to Shompole and the organizer, I don’t know what would have happened.

We woke up at 4:45 am to prepare. As the rest of the other runners went to have breakfast, I spent time praying, writing in my journal and talking to my wife over the phone. After taking a quick cold shower, I joined the other runners who were warming up. I skimmed through my MP3 player and settled on AStar’s album. We finally hit the road at 6 am. The pain on my neck aside, the run taxed my energy, will and resolve. I thought abour giving up several times. But each time I thought about how it all begun and the children I had met through Lifesong Kenya.

2. Lukenya Trails Marathon

Knowing that Cynthia and Jared were waiting for me at the finish line enabled me to start and finish the run. Having arrived 40 minutes late, I went into panic mode. Immediately! And by the time I had tied my shoes laces and begun, the other runners had a 48 minutes head start. I couldn’t see the race markers, but I was able to know the route from the hundreds of footsteps on the ground.

When Vincent saw arrive, he had the race marshals for back. That is how I was able to get water and guidance on where to cross on the creek, whcih was knee-deep. There were patches of muddy water along the way. Luckily, I had spent April running and training in the rain.

Just a kilometre from the finish line, I overtook one runner and boy, I was happy! As I rounded the bend to the finish line, I saw Cynthia and Jared pumping their arms in the air in victory. I had made it! As I received hugs from the two of them, I thought about my journey to this particular run. I wouldn’t have made it without help from Shiku who sacrificed her place so I could run.

3. Parklands 1oK Marathon

This was the first time Cynthia and I run together. Of course, we didn’t run side by side. I finished 17 minutes ahead of her. Seeing her drive me there, running and finishing made me proud. She fulfilled her promise of running with me. Having seen her response everytime I come back home from a run, I felt happy and overjoyed.

I have come to learn that running isn’t easy but with wonderful people like Cynthia by my side, I feel I can take on the whole world. Well, it has made my challenges bearable. My running has stopped being just about raising funds. I am not getting the kind of support and funding I thought I would get from running. But the lessons I am learning each time I train and run a mrathon are worth more valuable. And for that reason, I will be running tomorrow morning.

I promise!

Leave a Reply

