Behold an open door · James Ouma writes · Mission Field · Psalm 23 · Putting Jesus at the centre · Running for My Life · Writing by James Ouma

It Is Done, In Jesus Name

loaves-and-fishes
God’s provides in abundance

There is provision in Jesus Name

It is done, in Jesus Name. I think I had to say this. One of the things that stands out from Jesus’ ministry is His approach towards provision. I am reminded about what happened in Matthew 14:13-21 ( and Luke 9:16-17) when Jesus’ disciples wanted to send the crowd away. It is such a profound occurrence I have to quote it.

Jesus replied, “They do not need to go away. You give them something to eat.”

“We have here only five loaves of bread and two fish,” they answered, referring to the meal a boy had.

“Bring them here to me,” Jesus said. And he directed the people to sit down on the grass. Taking the five loaves and the two fish and looking up to heaven, he gave thanks and broke the loaves. Then he gave them to the disciples, and the disciples gave them to the people. They all ate and were satisfied, and the disciples picked up twelve basketfuls of broken pieces that were left over.

Let God be God

Jesus Christ understood the power of starting prayers with thanksgiving. His prayer was so powerful to an extent that a boy’s lunch fed a multitude. Not only were they fed, Jesus’ disciples collected 12 baskets of leftovers. What a divine provision!

Jesus gave us an example that we need to follow. The secret to answered prayers lies in giving thanks and surrendering the issue to God. Our God is so faithful He wants us to offer our petitions in thanksgiving. Once we do this, we need to surrender it to God. We don’t need to keep worrying about it. It s in God’s hands.

Remember the three Hebrew boys? Despite the fact that Nebuchadnezzar had absolute power and authority to do as he willed, the 3 boys never wavered in their faith in God. And listen to this, Shadrach, Meshach and Abednego believed that God was able to save and protect them in total surrender.

“King Nebuchadnezzar,” they said, “we do not need to defend ourselves before you in this matter. If we are thrown into the blazing furnace, the God we serve is able to deliver us from it, and He will deliver us from Your Majesty’s hand. But even if He does not, we want you to know, Your Majesty, that we will not serve your gods or worship the image of gold you have set up!” (Daniel 3: 16 – 18).

Nebuchadnezzar was so furious he ordered the furnace to be heated seven times! When the three of them had been thrown into the furnace, they walked, unharmed and there was a fourth person with them. What happened compelled Nebuchadnezzar to recognize the Greatness of Our Awesome and Almighty God. “Shadrach, Meshach and Abednego, servants of the Most High God, come out! Come here!” he shouted in response.

What is it that you are trusting God for? Even if it doesn’t happen God’s nature will remain the same. Trust Him to come through for you. He is Almighty and He deserves all praise, glory and honor.

There is power in the Name of Jesus

I am reminded of May 1, 2013. I really needed a breakthrough and I needed it urgently. I had been staying with a friend and it was time to go. I had no money, no hope and no where to turn to. I had three ATM cards that read zero. I needed to find a place to call my own. I had not been working since January of that year due to my commitments at the juvenile prison at Industrial Area Remand Prison.

I remember waking up at 3 am to pray.

“God,” I said, reading the names of the boys I had met in prison, “show me that what I have been doing is not in vain. I need You to give me a house today!” As I was praying, my phone rang. It was one of the boys I had met. He wanted me to continue mentoring him after he had left prison and regained his freedom.

“God,” I continued after I had reassured the boy about my availability. “I didn’t know this boy until I quit my job and started prison ministry. Give me a house today, in Jesus Name!”

Immediately I said this short prayer I experienced God’s peace and joy.  I went back to bed and slept till 5:30 am when my alarm went off. I left and went to CITAM Woodley swimming pool where I was learning how to swim. We were expected to have done a couple of laps in the swimming pool by the time it reached 6 am when our lessons began.

Teacher Ochola must have noticed I wasn’t in the right frame of mind to swim. This being so, he ordered me out of the swimming pool. I did not leave the swimming pool area. I sat down on a chair and watched the other swimmers. Anne , one of the ladies I had known during this time, asked why I had been ordered out of the pool. Later on, I told her I was looking for a house. That was at 9 am.

Two hours later, I had a place to call home. Not only did I have a house, Anne bought me a bed and a mattress! Since then, God has been doing amazing things in my life. I may not be earning yet from my writing and don’t have funding for Lifesong Kenya. But I know God is working in the background. I know He has a better plan in store for me. All I need to do is keep on believing, trusting and working towards my vision.

It is done, in Jesus Name

30914-cross-5-facebook

There is power in the Name of Jesus. Perhaps, you have waited and trusted God for a particular breakthrough for so long you have considered giving up. Do not throw in the towel yet. Call on the Name of Jesus one more time. Your answer may not come at the time you expect it. It may not even come through the avenues you have set your mind on. But this much I know. God is able to do exceedingly, above all that you can ever think or imagine.Begin thanking God for the things you are trusting Him for right now. It is done in Jesus Name!

I can do all things through Christ who strengthens me.”

Philippians 4:13

3 thoughts on “It Is Done, In Jesus Name

Leave a Reply

