Running for My Life Countdown: Laughing Stock

I was supposed to be posting a countdown to the end of ‘running for my life’. That hasn’t happened. I have been caught up with setting up the foundation that will enable me to work full time on Lifesong Kenya next year. In fact, my decision to run was pegged on raising funds for my work with boys in juvenile prison.

I haven’t found a steady source of income through my writing. I have also not found a single partner for Lifesong Kenya. I have been using sewing thread, needles and buttons for the past years. However, having reached a point where buttons aren’t sufficient, I had to rethink and re-evaluate my motives, goals and vision.

Running is nothing more than a series of arguments between the part of your brain that wants to stop and the part that wants to keep going.”
— Unknown

Running for My Life Countdown: Laughing Stock

I had a big swelling at the back of my neck at the time I was deciding to raise funds through running. There were times I felt weak, almost to the point of fainting, as a result of intense pains from the swelling. The need to get medical attention occupied my mind. I felt, deep in my heart, confident that God was going to take care of the swelling.

Besides, Pastor Evans Agoya had prayed for healing the year before and I knew it was only a matter of time before complete healing took place. With time, I simply stopped thinking about it and surrendered my fate to God.I somehow knew and believed that God had already taken care of the swelling. I signed up for the Shompole Wildlife Marathon and continued preparing for it.

Picking a day for the surgery in March

I still remember the way it happened. I had just come out of church to greet Josephine Djirackor. “Pick a day in March for the surgery,” she said.

“I don’t have the money,” I replied.

“You don’t get it,” she continued. “The ladies you met in Baragoi have decided to pay for the surgery. All you need to do is go to Coptic Hospital and book for the surgery,” she added.

“I will do so,” I replied, tears welling in my eyes.

It was so amazing, and a surprise, that a group of ladies I had met during the Baragoi mission in 2014, had decided to pay for my surgery. I realized God actually reward those who diligently serve Him, even if the service is in the form of sewing buttons for children! And with the surgery out of the way, I really had no excuse not to continue preparing for my first marathon.

p1110804
A few days after the surgery March 2016
One Comment

Leave a Reply

