Lifesong Kenya · Running for My Life · Shompole Wildlife Marathon · The gift of blindness · the making of Jim Buttons

Looking back over my shoulder

“Be Brave and Take Risks: You need to have faith in yourself. Be brave and take risks. You don’t have to have it all figured out to move forward.”

Roy T. Bennett, The Light in the Heart

20170127_190551-1
It isn’t everyday that one receives a birthday gift from a complete stranger unless God commissions it

Last year’s running was all about going back to the unknown. Well, it isn’t going to be easy. But the assurance that God is going to protect and prepare the way makes me look ahead with lots of trust, hope and faith. There are no guarantees yet. Yet all I can do is look ahead knowing God has got my back covered.

It isn’t that I haven’t tried my best. I have emailed and contacted most of the people I know. I have pitched my blog writing proposals to numerous clients. No one has assured me of funding, while very few of the clients I have contacted have set up a meeting with me. I don’t even know if I will have the money to enter competitions where I hope to raise funds through half marathons and duathlons.

Looking back over my shoulder

I was in the same position in 2014. The clouds looked darker than they are now. I didn’t have the sacrificial support from my wife and a group of the wonderful friends who have stuck with me since the first day I became a full time volunteer. Just like 3 years ago, I had lots of hope, faith and trust that I was going to pull through by the grace of God.

And just like last year, I am ready to go the extra mile by climbing mountains, crossing rivers on bridges made of sticks, providing story books and take Jesus Christ and the love of God to the children I will be meeting this year. My buttons are ready while my mind has the clarity I need in the huge leap of faith I am taking.

Connecting the dots

At the beginning of this year – and especially on my birthday – I had one prayer. I wanted to get a mountain bike as a birthday gift. That was my prayer. I remember the Bible Study meeting we had a week before my birthday and I requested the group to pray and ask God to bless me with a bike.

And just like clock work, God answered my prayer after I posted my request for a bike on Strava.com. 20 minutes later, someone I have never met responded and after a few more minutes he sent pictures, asking if I wanted the bike! You can imagine how thrilled and excited I was!

The following day, I met George Karimi and picked the bike. That was another sign that God is surely connecting the dots that leads back to being a full time volunteer. As for my work as a writer, that too is covered. All I have to do is keep trusting, believing and working towards the big picture. God is faithful! This much I know!

16491561_1341412049248296_2139404732_o

Leave a Reply

