I Finally Went back to Prison (and Glad I Did!)

Running for My Life 2017: Day 69

DSCN2353

I finally back went to juvenile prison after a 2-year break of self reflection. It is a prison I have never been to and since it is 40.8 KM (25.35194 Miles) away, it means I won’t be able to walk on foot the way I used to when I didn’t have bus fare to Industrial Area Remand.

Much as it was a new prison, I was surprised to find one of the boys I used to mentor at the Industrial Area Remand Prison two years ago. There were, I still have, a thousand questions to ask him, just to find out what has been going on in his life. However, I didn’t have the time to do so since we still had one more stop on our way back.

The boys were happy to see Tracy Hanson and I, while I personally felt so at home and so alive once more I didn’t want to leave! In the end, the two year break I had taken was worth it. I was able to run 7 half marathons and take part in my first duathlon and much as I didn’t raise enough money for my work, I learned numerous lessons that will guide my work and life as I keep working with boys in juvenile prison.

Taking a two-year break

The reality hasn’t changed that much. Most of the men I know in church aren’t willing to do the following:-

  • accompany me to prison so they can talk to the boys
  • support my work by contributing money and sharing resources
  • give me writing jobs so I can earn an income

These are the things and issues that the two year break enabled me to resolve. I am at a position and place where my eyes are set on doing what I can and leaving the rest to God. I won’t lie to you. Leaving such issues to God isn’t an easy thing to do. I pray and hope that many men would get involved in my work as well as give me writing jobs.

As we left the prison, my heart was at rest and I felt the kind of joy I used to experience when I used to visit the boys in prison and trace their parents and the people they have wronged through crime.

How you can get involved

 

  • accompany us to prison
  • sponsoring our biking and running to raise funds
  • give me writing jobs for your website and social media marketing
  • share our needs for funding and resources with your friends and family
  • come and work with us a volunteer

 

#TheMakingofJimButtons #LifesongKenya #RunningforMyLife

Leave a Reply

