Is God able to supply for all our needs when we seek His kingdom?

Bible verse
One of my desires is to be able to fully depend on God for provision – for my writing, work with boys in juvenile prison and marriage. I think about this every time I decline a 9-5 job and focus on meeting the needs of boys in juvenile prison through Lifesong KENYA.
Well, today, Pastor James Okumu shared Philippians 4:19 and God’s provision when we seek His kingdom during his morning show on Family TV. It also reminded me about a recurring issue that John Wollwerth and I keep discussing, from time to time. John uses part of his income from photography to finance his mission work in Eastern Africa.
Check  Wollwerth Imagery for more information about John’s work.

And my God will meet all your needs according to the riches of his glory in Christ Jesus.”

 – Philippians 4:19

Philippians 4:19

I can tell you – and I am sure John and Carl Hughes will confirm this – when you seek the kingdom of God, everything else follows. I am fully convinced that I possess the kind of gifts, talents and treasures that will bring wealth. I am not – in any way – boasting in my talents, gifts and treasures.
However, I would like to remind you of Matthew 6:33. Now is the time to read it and come back to what I would like to share with you. Have you read it? Okay, here we go…
In 2013, I quit my job as a children’s television producer after meeting 100 boys in juvenile prison.
I decided to focus on working with boys in juvenile prison because I knew God was going to provide through my creativity in writing and reading club. With time, my focus shifted from depending on God to depending on people and comparing myself to organizations that were already doing well in terms of having donors and funding.
People started asking for structures and photos of what I was doing. Strangely enough – which has been a huge blessing in disguise – I wasn’t allowed to take photos of my activities with boys in prison. This shifted my focus back to depending on God. It wasn’t easy to abandon what seemed to be common sense. In fact, it took me the whole of 2016 to fully focus on God’s provision.

Is God able to supply for all our needs when we seek His kingdom?

During his sharing, Pastor James Okumu, explained how Family TV and Radio 316 fully depends on God for provision. This is what enables the television and radio station to remain on air.  John has also shared with me several examples of how God continues to bring him clients who are able pay for his services.
Another example of how God is supplying is of Elisha, the young man I have been mentoring. He did not have his own bike when we begun riding and running in preparation to our fundraising activities. However, one day his day decided to buy him a bike. Three days ago, we were out riding on Mombasa Road. Unknown to us, one of our neighbours who drives a taxi, saw us and he has decided to buy a helmet for Elisha.
I would also like to share an example of how God is providing and supplying for my needs. This begun the same year I quit my job. God provided friends who agreed to provide accommodation and a place to call home. In 2015, God provided for my wedding and the following year, He provided for surgery for a growth on my neck. The surgery was fully paid for by a group of women who had met me when I went to Baragoi to sew buttons for children in 2014.
But because I had allowed doubt to fill my heart, I started panicking when I was not able to get financial support from my friends. It was only after I had decided to take a long break and seek direction from God through running in 2016 that I discovered I needed to fully depend on God for provision.
I have resumed my work with boys in juvenile prison and strongly believe that God is going to supply for all my needs and the needs of Lifesong Kenya. I know, beyond a shadow of a doubt that God is already using my gifts, talents and treasures to attract more clients  who are willing to pay for my writing services and reading club and at the same time, fully support my work with boys in juvenile prison.
This is what He says in His word….

But seek ye first the kingdom of God, and his righteousness; and all these things shall be added unto you.”

Matthew 6:33, King James Version

 

Leave a Reply

